Shelton: Connecticut’s Malibu

We’d like to preface this by saying no one was hurt.

I remember going to naugatuck once as a kid and being a little terrified by the houses sitting along the tops of cliffs. Even as a 12-year-old, it didn’t seem safe to me. The idea of sleeping on the second or thrid floor of one of those houses on a blustery, winter night was scary.  I returned to the rolling hills of central Connecticut, glad to live far away from any precipices.

So, when I saw this, I felt like my fear was vindicated:

SHELTON — Jennifer Maybeck was jarred awake late Tuesday morning in her North Oak Avenue home by rumbling so loud she thought it was an earthquake.

When the 17-year-old Shelton High School senior ran outside, she didn’t quite find an earthquake, but what she saw looked “pretty close” to what one must be like.

What she saw was most likely a mudslide that brought down 100-foot-tall trees, a metal fence, retaining walls, massive boulders and part of a vacant, nearly 100-year-old colonial, across the street at 161 North Oak Ave.

