Blizzard Blog: 2010

Like most of you Nutmeggers, we are either curled up on our couches or anxiously awaiting early dismissal from work. So, we thought we’d bore you with every little detail.

Gay Guru – Glastonbury – 7:39 a.m. – I was overcome with the flight or flight response to the storm this morning. Having resolved that I wouldn’t leave the house if there was more than two inches of snow on the ground, I pulled open the window shade to find, it hadn’t even started snowing yet. So I ended my morning affair with my snooze button and quickly began the beautification process and hit the road to work.  I was met with absolutely NO traffic. I gather the people not driving are smarter than I….but I just started a new job.

The view from the Anti-Couric's office window this morning.

Anti-Couric – Monroe – 8:30 a.m. – I woke up to about an inch of snow on the ground and a cat purring in my face. She doesn’t like it when I sleep late and don’t get up to feed her.

Gay Guru – Hartford – 8:40 a.m. – I’ve arrived at work to find there are exactly 4 people (of roughly 30 or so) here today.  The absent include the person who was to train me today.  New resolution, they can have me until noon or 3 inches of snow, whichever comes first. Hartford is notoriously horrendous at plowing their roads and I am not about to get trapped in Hartford.

Anti-Couric – Newtown – 9:45 a.m. – Can’t work from home without the internet and I can’t get to the router which is in the basement and controlled by the folks in the office downstairs…who got to stay home this morning. Luckily, the snow is still falling lightly enough that the roads are clear. I’m keeping an eye on it, though.

Ring Nation – Windsor -9:45 a.m. – It’s uhh…not really snow. And I’m ok with that, because I’m at home!!

Gay Guru – Hartford – 9:53 a.m. – It has effectively stopped snowing here in downtown Hartford. This is bullshit.

Asian Persuasion – Hartford – 10:24 a.m. – WTF. After frantic text messages with a co-worker this morning, and not a flake to be seen in Manchester, I came to work to find the parking lot void of co-worker cars. Turns out parking in the Hartford 21 Garage was the thing to do. Score. Still no flakes. I agree with GG. This is bullshit.

Almost two hours and barely any accumulation on good old Blanca, my Puerto Rican Subaru.

Anti-Couric – Newtown – 11:16 a.m. – Seriously? I just looked out the window to see if it was time to go home…it’s barely flurrying and the roads are completely clear. What’s more annoying, is that I called the office downstairs from my apartment —  which controls my wireless router — and no one was there. In some cases, they live closer to work than I do (and I live close) and every single one of them has a giant truck or SUV. I mean, frankly, I was hoping to be able to drive in at least a little snow so I can get my money’s worth out of the AWD.

Ring Nation – Windsor – noon– It’s noon time and there’s still no snow to be seen in the just-north-of-Hartford area. It’s been good because I’m able to sit at home in sweats, send out work emails and listening to Sirius. I wish it fake-snowed more often! I’m having a great day!

Gay Guru –Hartford – 12:27 p.m. – Snow flakes!!! They may be the same 3 or 4 fluttering around in circles past my window…but it’s enough for me to believe that the snow of doom is back on! Albeit fashionably late…but who is the Gay Guru to argue with fashion?

Asian Persuasion-Hartford-12:33 p.m. – Half the office didn’t show up today, and of the half that did show up, half of them are getting ready to  leave now. What to do, what to do. Want to go home. Have bad cold. Ran out of tissues. And I think those 3 or 4 flakes GG saw may have flown by my window as well. Hope they brought a lot of friends.

Anti-Couric – Monroe- 1:30 p.m. – Two episodes of Gilmore Girls down and the driveway I shoveled when I got home isn’t even coated yet. But apparently the one lady who could help with my Internet situation has been forbade to drive by her husband. Poppycock.

Asian Persuasion – Manchester – 1:37 p.m. – Left the office. Working from home now. Where I can cuddle with the dog and have the TV on in the background. Not much snow coming down but lots of plow trucks on the road.

Gay Guru – Hartford – 2:03 p.m. – I’m still at work. I can’t seem to justify leaving when the snow doesn’t actually appear to be accumulating on the roads or in the parking lots. To that end I am surrounded by pavement (which appeared to have been dually pre-salted and pre-sanded and adorned with other seasonings, I’m sure), so if there was snow accumulating on incidental things like trees, or bushes, the type of incidental things that don’t seem to exist round these parts… I really wouldn’t have any idea.

Ring Nation – Windsor – 2:15 p.m. – The snow has started to fall a bit more. There’s a very light dusting on the grass. The weather men were way off on their timing of when this super blizzard was going to make its mark. Julian Tavarez might be more accurate than weather people at this point.

Anti-Couric – Monroe – 3:30 p.m. – Dear God. It’s once again not snowing. Last night Geoff Fox warned me about thunder snow and the sky opening up to unleash a torrent of snow upon us. He’s a goddamned liar.

Asian Persuasion – Manchester – 4:28 p.m. – It’s actually snowing and sticking now–although the roads still seem fine judging by how people are flying by. In half an hour I can stop working and clean up the mess of paper all over my couch. Why do I feel I work harder from home than at the office??

Gay Guru – Glastonbury – 4:38 p.m. – Did you hear that? The storm of peril and doom was just downgraded to “eh, not that big a deal”. Really Connecticut meteorologists, really? About an hour ago, I noticed that the snow was in fact turning the endless sea of pavement surrounding my building to shades of white, so I packed it in and headed home. The drive was largely uneventful with the exception of 4 or 5 pick-up trucks and SUV’s driving assholishly fast. Having skipped the super-market rush, I’m now sitting at home, pondering one of life’s most puzzling questions: who’s the bigger toolbox, this guy on Deal or No deal me for watching it?

Asian Persuasion – Manchester – 4:40 p.m. – Gay Guru better be wrong.

Anti-Couric – Monroe – 5:20 p.m. – I’m gonna go to the store for junk food and maybe some cat food because I am a bottomless pit today and already got yogurt on my keyboard. Crackers seem a safer bet.

Asian Persuasion – Manchester – 6:00 p.m. – Just took the dog out. There’s barely a dusting! And nothing coming from the sky. I’m calling shenanigans.

Gay Guru – Glastonbury – 7:56 p.m.  – The Gay Guru (who is rarely if ever wrong, Asian Persuasion!) is fabulously hunkered down at home. Every once in awhile I venture over to the window to see if its still snowing…and it appears to be. Really, REALLY hoping my friend comes through with a plow because I’m looking at about an acre of driveway and shovel…

Asian Persuasion – Manchester – 8:23 p.m. – Well, the snow is still going, which makes me happy. Hopefully it will go all night and I can go into work late (I know, I’m pushing my luck). Spent the evening cleaning out my spare room (aka dumping ground) and producing two bags to donate and three bags to trash. Not bad. Cold/sinus thingy is slowly killing me though.

— The Aftermath —

Anti-Couric – Newtown – 9:25 a.m. – In the office now, and surly as hell. My internet is, of course, working at home now that I don’t need it. I shoveled maybe about an inch and a half of snow from the driveway this morning, stepped in some cat puke–sometimes I have no idea why I let these creatures live in my house– and already want to do physical harm to people. Let’s hope NPR can soothe my soul on this day.

2 comments

Comments are closed.