It’s the train, boss! The train!

I vote for a monorail!

As some of you who are our Facebook fans might already know, I spent quite a bit of time in traffic on my way home from New Hampshire last weekend. You will have seen the pictures I took of the endless sea of taillights ahead of me while at a complete stop. This was not traffic from Cape Cod I was dealing with. It was a snarly mess caused by roadwork on 91S. As someone who has commuted to work in every way possible over the years–including bus, Metro North, short car ride, subway, foot, and long car ride–I feel as though I am an expert on the subject of transportation. So, it is with the utmost sincerity and authority that I say, “It’s about f-ing time, Jodi!”

HARTFORD — —Gov. M. Jodi Rell said today she expects the State Bond Commission to approve her request for $260 million to make a “dramatic upgrade” of the Springfield-to-Hartford-to New Haven rail line.

If the envisioned project goes forward, the state could offer intercity commuter rail service within five years, she said. Allowing more people to take the train to work will spur economic development in Enfield, Windsor Locks, Meriden and six other communities along the route, she said.

Rell’s plan for one of the biggest bond issues in recent memory is intended to attract an additional $220 million in federal aid to begin building a high-speed train line linking Springfield and Hartford to Amtrak’s busy Boston-to-Washington route along the shoreline.

I have been whining about CT’s transportation system for years. Any SimCity player will tell you it’s just good governing to set up alternate transportation along your main roads. I don’t consider buses a legitimate alternative. They get stuck in traffic too. A little light rail along 84, Route 2, or even places like the Berlin Turnpike could, no doubt, take a lot of cars off the road and keep me from having to sit in traffic at 10 o’clock at night on a Sunday. Moe importantly, we could stop the near-constant widening of our overloaded roads and debating the merits of tolls.

