The Dog Days are Over: Gay Guru

One of my favorite times of year is when the Anti-Couric pipes up and doles out our “what we did this summer” assignment. I love it, not just because the Anti-Couric is sexy when she’s assertive (which both turns me on and confuses the shit out of me) but, because I’m pretty sure if it wasn’t for this task I would breeze right into fall without ever looking back at summer.

:o(

This particular summer, The Gay Guru’s affairs heated up quickly and, all too literally, when my beloved 12 unit condo building in the West-end of Hartford, burned down. I owned several units in the building which was my own little foray into the income property world.  My heart is still broken about the loss.  At some point, when the dust begins to settle, I’ll write more about that. It’s a total shit show darlings, and you know how I love to share.

The biggest blessing in the whole ordeal is that everyone in the building got out ok. While the building’s tenants lost a majority of their possessions, some priceless and irreplaceable, they did escape with their lives in tact and for that I am so grateful.

“Things We lost in the Fire” set the tone for my summer. In addition to losing my condo investment properties (one of which I intended on moving back into), my ex finally bought out my share of a home we owned together in West Beat.  As much as I had once loved my West Hartford home, it became a dark and terrible place where, with the exception of one, relationships go to die.

Fear not Darlings, it wasn’t all doom and gloom for the Gay Guru this summer. I mean we can’t all be Ring Nation, right?  Early in the summer, the CuT girls and I planned a CuT Weekend in New Hampshire, which I’m sure you’ve read about. It was one of several highlights of my summer.

I made my yearly pilgrimage to Las Vegas, to re-charge my fabulous and visit my mom who is a showgirl on the Las Vegas strip. Ok, ok, she’s not, but sometimes it’s fun to pretend!  Plus, she probably just spit her tea out all over her computer when she read that…which is fine because she needed a new one anyway.

Every year I normally head West for my birthday in what I refer to as, “The Las Vegas leg of my World Tour.”  However this year I opted to take the trip in mid-August. Yes, usually the weather in Vegas around mid August is a balmy 109 degrees. By all accounts, the weather this August was normal. But you see darlings, I love Vegas in August, because all the sane people go somewhere else!  So, a city normally packed with tourists, turns into a quaint but tacky hometown.  As I have confessed before, I’m not a big fan of crowds…

Back in the humid grundle of New England, I celebrated my birthday, which falls on Labor Day weekend, at my father’s lakeside compound in New Hampshire. I would like to say that my birthday celebration was reserved and filled with quiet, personal reflection….but I can’t. You see darlings, when fireworks are launched for your birthday; quiet and reserve pretty much go out the window.

Initially I had wanted nothing to do with my birthday weekend and instead was pricing tickets to Florida for the weekend. My brother, who I love dearly, moved to Florida in mid-summer to take a long-term temporary work assignment, so I have a free place to crash. (Sure, while some people wouldn’t list this as a highlight of their summer…I am. In close quarters, my brother and I fight like cats and dogs. But with the entire eastern seaboard in between us, or separated by continents…we get along famously!) Eventually though, I thought better of abandoning friends and family who were traveling up to the lake to see me, and darlings I’m so glad I did! What ended up happening was, to me, just a little bit magical.

I’ve pretty much spent every summer at the Lake in New Hampshire since I was just a wee queerling.  There were several kids my age in the neighborhood and naturally we all became pretty good seasonal friends. We would see one another all summer. In fall and winter off-season we may not talk or see each other at all, but come the next summer, our friendships picked up right where they left off.

Well, now we’re all adults, and while we have managed to re-connect to a degree with the wonder of Facebook, we rarely get to see one another. Some are married, some work crazy hours, and some travel about the country for work. After a summer of attempting and failing to make plans to meet up, four of my friends showed up to my birthday party. It was quite possibly the best impromptu present I could have received! It made for an amazing birthday and a fittingly fabulous end of my summer.

And just in case you were too lame to get the reference at any point since we started posting these write-ups–even after being bombarded with the song all summer long–here’s a little Florence + the Machine for You:

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWOyfLBYtuU

