Drug Factories & DMT

I’ve had the distinct displeasure of being a police reporter. So I know it’s probably not the reporter’s fault that this story is so ridiculously vague, and the lead is buried but…you know, it still bugs me.

Basically this dude with a ridiculous mugshot named Tyler Lefebvre was arrested in Glastonbury for operating a drug factory. Having covered the police for several years I know this could mean the kid had some weed, a box of sandwich bags, and a cooking scale in his kitchen. In fact, I assume this is what most “drug factory” arrests entail. And because the article didn’t even mention DMT until the last paragraph — by which I’d tuned out because there isn’t usually anything interesting in that last paragraph — I didn’t even realize this was a more interesting story until the Gay Guru pointed it out to me.

The Courant tells us only that DMT is a powerful hullucinogen. It sounds pretty scary right? Turns out it’s found in many plants, as well as in the human body. It’s one of those weird substances used in South American shamanic practices. According to Wikipedia:

Several speculative and yet untested hypotheses suggest that endogenous DMT, produced in the human brain, is involved in certain psychological and neurological states. DMT is naturally produced in small amounts in the brain and other tissues of humans and other mammals.[42] It may play a role in mediating the visual effects of natural dreaming, and also near-death experiences, religious visions and other mystical states.

It seems that you can take this drug in just about any fashion if you’ve got the skills to cook it properly. But Wikipedia says most “recreational” users smoke it in its crystallized form. And if you believe Cliff Pickover, DMT gave us God: “DMT in the pineal glands of Biblical prophets gave God to humanity and let ordinary humans perceive parallel universes.”

As far as I’ve been able to determine, the big danger of DMT is having an intense, bad trip.

When I think of a drug factory I think meth lab, or dudes cooking crack. When I lived in an apartment building I lived in fear that some moron had a meth lab under my bedroom and the whole place would explode. So far, no one has convinced me to be afraid of DMT and I continue to be dubious of “drug factory” charges.

