Glastonbury Breeds Master Race of Creative Types

A couple weeks back I was out to dinner with a couple friends, talking about a script we’ve been working on. I mentioned that our town seemed to have produced a disproportionate amount of people who were able to be successful in cool and creative fields. I have friends from all over, many of them successful in their own right. But my friends from Glastonbury seem to have “followed their dreams” and had it work out. I was reminded of this tonight, as I am avoiding the bone-chilling cold and trolling Facebook.

So I decided to make a little list of the people I know who have done well for themselves in notoriously unstable, and hard-to-break-into fields. Some of these I can verify via the internet, others you’ll just have to believe me (and ignore the LA and New York-based nonsense…I have the yearbooks to prove where they’re really from):

Director

Musicians

Artist

Another Artist

Musician/Music Mogul (for more on these guys read this Advocate article)

Ummm…reality star?

Sound Engineer

Another Sound Engineer

Photographer

Actress

General Artistic Badass

Bodybuilder?

Filmmaker

A, perhaps, overly ambitious WRITER/DIRECTOR/CINEMATOGRAPHER/EDITOR

Make-Up Artist

Composer

Two journalists (one of those is me)

If I wanted to go way back I’d throw Amy Brenneman and Candace Bushnell out there but they aren’t in my yearbooks so I don’t care about them. I’m sure I’m forgetting some people, but even a list this long seems odd to me. All these people emerged from one school with a 10-year (or so) period… I think there must be something in the water.

