Adventures in House Hunting: The Intro

I'd sell my soul for this house. (By Moon Angel, Flickr Creative Commons.)

I have very few goals in life. They include publishing a book, working from home, and buying a house. In recent years, working from home and buying a house sort of became one goal because being in my office requires living in Fairfield County where only the PrissyBitch and her ilk can afford to buy anything habitable.

At the beginning of the year, though, my boss left the company, I took her job and now we’re down to two people in our office. There is no reason for us to be there and I work at home at least one day a week. So, I started thinking about moving back to the Hartford area…and thanks to that promotion, buying a house became sort of feasible.

I started spending hour after hour on Realtor.com and soon fell in love with a house in New Britain, but by the time I  got my act together someone else had beaten me to the punch. Sad… The Gay Guru, who loooooves him some real estate, was even more upset than I was.

Falling in love with that charming little bungalow prompted me to get the ball rolling. Finally having found a realtor who returns my calls/emails, I am preparing to head out onto the open roads of suburban Connecticut and start looking at some houses…and I’ll be taking you with me as I tip-toe my way toward adulthood. With any luck, I’ll accomplish this first goal by the time I’m 30, but this isn’t the first time I’ve gotten a bee in my bonnet to buy myself a place to live so I can’t make any promises that this won’t end…um…anti-climatically.

One comment

Comments are closed.