We’ve Got Gas

Flickr Creative Commons, by makdune

According to The Courant, gas prices in Connecticut have dropped sharply over the past week. I got excited when I heard about this,  thinking the soul-deadening despair I felt the last time I went to the gas pumps and found that $50 wasn’t enough to fill up the tank in my little Subaru might be a thing of the past. And then I read this:

The average cost of a gallon of self-serve regular gasoline in Connecticut fell 8.3 cents to $4.182, according to AAA, which conducts a daily survey. One month ago, the average was $4.145.

Anything over $3 gives me anxiety. Anything over $4 makes me seriously consider giving up on real life, moving off the grid, and finally giving in to my DNA which dictates that I’ll some day become a back-to-the-earth loon anyway.

