CuTs from the Kitchen: Summer Party Food Recipes

The Fourth of July is fast approaching, and as you may have read, the Anti-Couric is probably buying a haunted house, and when she’s not obsessing over decorating it, she’s obsessing over the 30th birthday party she’ll be throwing herself after she moves in. So we’ve decided to bring you our favorite summer party recipes. Feel free to steal our menus.

Asian Persuasion

So, I’m on a health kick because I want to look hot in my wedding dress but I love food too much to just be eating carrot sticks all day. I’m all about enjoying whatever food I am shoveling into my mouth. Also, work is very busy over the summer so I don’t have time to do a lot of prep, or the constitution to stand by a hot stove for long periods of time. This is why these are very simple, very lazy recipes.

Kicked-Up Turkey Burgers

  • 1 pound 99% fat free turkey
  • 1/2 avocado, diced
  • feta cheese (how much is up to you)
  • 1/4 cup of scallions, sliced
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tbsp hot chili garlic paste or Sriracha
  • Salt, pepper, garlic powder to taste

Mix it all together, divide into 4 patties  and grill.

Imitation Metro Bis Baby Arugula Salad

You may have read about my new obsession with Metro Bis’ salad. This is the best I’ve been able to do in recreating it. It’s very simple…the dressing is the key. I was lucky to find a really good one at Whole Foods.

  • baby arugula
  • crumbled feta cheese
  • golden raisins (in the bulk section of Whole Foods, or in boxes at your regular grocery store)
  • XXXXX mustard vinaigrette

Toss all ingredients together (amounts to your liking). Serve.

Grilled Tomatoes

  • 4 Ripe, red tomatoes of a good size
  • 1/4 cup of EVOO
  • chopped or dried parsley, basil, thyme (about 1/2 tsp each)
  • 3 large cloves of garlic, chopped
  • salt and pepper
  • shredded parmesan or sharp cheddar cheese

Cut the tomatoes in half. Mix EVOO, herbs and garlic together. Make sure the mixture is fairly thick. Salt and pepper to taste. Grill the tomatoes face down until there are light grill marks. Turn them over and spoon the herb mixture on them (balance it on top, don’t let it overflow too much–this is why you want the mixture to be thick). Cover the grill for a few minutes. Sprinkle with cheese and close the grill cover to melt.  Serves 8.

Anti-Couric

In my family there is one thing no summer party can go without (and more recently, no drunken weekend in the woods with my friends can go without).

Tuna Mac

  • 1 box elbow macaroni
  • 2 cans tuna
  • 2-3 hard boiled eggs
  • celery (or if you’re lazy, celery salt)
  • mayo
  • salt and pepper

It should be fairly obvious how you put these ingredients together but if you can’t figure it out here’s the lowdown: cook the macaroni, then drain and cool it, while hard boiling the eggs. Peel and chop the eggs, adding it to the pasta along with the tuna, chopped celery (or celery salt), and mayo. I tend to like my Tuna Mac Salad dry, so I’m not going to tell you how much to use. Figure that out for itself. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Prissy Bitch’s Corn-Mango Salad

I’m stealing this little gem from the Prissy Bitch, but it’s so damn delicious I think she’ll forgive me. Be warned, however, this is not always the most filling dish. It’s definitely more of a side dish. This recipe will only feed about two or three people, so you’ll need to increase the ingredients accordingly.

  • one ear of sweet corn
  • 10 or so shrimp (or chicken, or tofu or whatever you feel like cutting up and putting in this)
  • half a mango, cubed
  • sriracha (optional)

Cut the corn off the cob, and chop the shrimp (or  whatever into little pieces). Put it all in some tin foil with the mango, spray it with some sriracha to taste then wrap up the tin foil and put it over a low heat on the grill. Check the contents often, but it should take about half an hour before everything is cooked.

Pimm’s Cup

This is my new favorite drink. it’s light and delicious. But I’ll admit I haven’t quite got the mixture down yet, so let’s listen to the expert. (In my opinion this should also have a splash of lemonade.)

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GjXuBbs3wlk

