Live Blog: Hallowinter!

Asian Persuasion – Manchester – 10/29/2011, 5:27 p.m.: So I suck at life. Around 1pm the Anti-Couric left me a voicemail asking me to coordinate a live blog of this ridiculous snowstorm because he’s dumb enough to be heading to Dirty Jerz. But…I was at the mall.

That’s right, I was one of the surprising number of people who were big enough jackasses to head to the Westfarms with imminent winter storm warnings. It was bloody packed. By the time I left at 2:45 p.m., the parking lot was still fairly full and the roads weren’t too bad if you kept it slow.

However, once I reached the juncture of 84 and 384, it was pretty rough. I’ve kept to home every since. I decided to wash the dog and clean the bathroom before the guaranteed power outages hit. The Pilot and I also watched some giant tree branches take out the neighbor’s fence. I’m praying that they don’t fall on our place…but there’s an iffy looking one hanging over our spare bedroom.

We’ve had a couple flickers of power, but no actual outage…yet. CL&P’s map looks like one hot effing mess. We hurried through cooking dinner at like 4:30 p.m…steak and shrimp fajitas…out of fear of losing power. So now I sit with a stomach ache, mooching off someone else’s internet because ours somehow went out in the last power flicker.

Anti-Couric – Between CT and NJ – 10/29/2011, 6:00 p.m.: On hour 4 of my trek to Jersey. Somehow other cars keep ending up going the wrong way on the side of the road. Luckily the Renaissance Man and his Volve seem to have things under control.

Asian Persuasion – Manchester –10/29/2011, 6:02 p.m.: Um. Across the street are power lines. One is…sparking. Like embers blowing off of it. The Pilot has been taking pictures of it and just now said, “I wonder if we should call and let them know.” I think that’d be a good idea.

Anti-Couric – Somewhere in NJ – 10/29/2011, 6:20 p.m.: Jeresey’s roads are a complete shitshow. Even more than normal.

Anti-Couric – Somewhere in NJ – 10/29/2011, 6:39 p.m.: There are trees down in the street the party is on. And power keeps flickering. We can’t get to the house.

Asian Persuasion – Manchester – 10/29/2011, 8:42 p.m.: The sky just flashed green a couple of times. I think the aliens are coming for us. Or a transformer exploded.

Gay Guru – Sanford, Maine – 10/30/2011, 8:30 a.m.: Sometime around 8:30 last night I sent a picture to the AP showing snow filling the small park across the street from the wedding I was attending in Sanford Maine. I recieved a message back from the AP saying, “No power here”. Last I heard of the Maine forecast, they were predicting 6 to 8 inches of snow….but no one really cared because, it’s Maine. By some miracle, we have power at the Inn I’m staying at, but no internet and no cable….so thank jeebus for cell service (Verizon) and a USB tether!

I talked to my aunt sometime around midnight and she told me, “the power is out all over, they’re saying it’s worse than Irene”. Lucky for my aunt and uncle, they have a generator, and lucky for me, I hadn’t planned on returning to Connecticut until Monday anyway. A quick check of my facebook show’s a lot of my CT friends posting updates via cell phone with some clearly exhibiting signs of Post-Snowmatic Stress (which is a term I’m coining right now). One friend has, in true WASPy Connecticut fashion, decided to completely ignore the snow and no-power and is preparing his beach gear.

So darlings, here I am in Maine, hung over and more likely probably still a little drunk which means it’s going to be a really interesting drive to the Groom’s Sister’s house for post wedding brunch. I’ll check in later darlings! Cheers!

The tree that fell next to Asian Persuasion's car. Not on. Next to.

Asian Persuasion – Manchester – 10/30/2011, 12:10 p.m.: No power, no heat. A tree fell next to my car. Not on, next to. The backyard of the house behind us looks like the trees had a war. This is going to blow.

Gay Guru – York, Maine – 10/30/2011, 12:30 p.m.: On the move to my friend’s house (I’m a gay about Maine, darlings) where I’m spending the night before returning to Connecticut tomorrow. Still thinking I’m a little drunk… Road to my friend’s house, come to find out, is blocked with downed limbs and power lines. Uggghhhhh. Talked to my father in Connecticut, he suggests I call before I come home tomorrow as apparently they’re expecting to be without power for a couple days.

Asian Persuasion – Manchester – 10/30/2011, 1:01 p.m.: Have taken refuge at the Barnes & Noble. Found plugs to recharge phones and there’s hot water to wash hands! I keep wondering if they’ll kick me out for having a kindle instead of a nook. The Pilot is reading “Airports of the World”. For realz. The plow guy came as we were returning from the DD by Pratt & Whitney (packed and open!). He plowed the tree out of the lot. It was pretty kickass.

Asian Persuasion – Manchester – 10/30/2011, 5:22 p.m.: We have power! No internet and barely any phone service, but heat and hot water and light! The Pilot is now watching DVR’d episodes of Jersey Shore since there’s no real cable. Once he’s done, there are only DVR’d reruns of Gilmore Girls!

Gay Guru – York, Maine – 10/31/2011, 8:35 a.m.: The Maine attitude of not giving much care to this Hallowinter snow has really settled in with me. I had truly thought nothing of returning to Connecticut today, until I received a text message from my father asking me to pick up several forms of “proteins” (chicken, fish, shrimp, etc.) as well as milk and cheese, because apparently “the grocery store is on lock-down”. This news has me second guessing my return. I had worried less and less about driving back down to Connecticut today as I saw more and more of my friends reappearing in my facebook news feed. I had even thought about asking friends if they wanted anything from the New Hampshire Liquor Store as I’ll be heading past it on the way home. Now I’m worried that I’m driving back into a post-snowpocolyptic scene with a trunk full of meats and cheeses and no way to defend my meaty, cheesey contraband other than with a fierce  slapping ability and snappy backhanded compliments.

Asian Persuasion – Hartford – 10/31/2011, 9:28 a.m.: Made it into work with no problems. Of course, work never loses power or Internet. The roads were empty as most people seem to be penned into their houses. At least many of my co-workers are. My nod to Halloween are socks. And a scarf, mittens and a winter coat. I am starting to worry about the Anti-Couric though. I mean, the last I heard was that she was going to a Halloween party in Jersey on Saturday night and that the street the party was on was blocked with a fallen tree.

Asian Persuasion – Hartford – 10/31/2011, 9:34 a.m.: Just heard from the Anti-Couric. She alive and feisty–full of piss and vinegar. All is right with the world.

Ring Nation – Boston, MA – 10/31/2011, 10:10 a.m.:  Around 5:30pm Saturday night, my house lost power. Until then, it was a nice little weekend!! But when you lose the power in the dead of a snow storm, that’s not good. Sunday night I high-tailed it up to Boston to stay with my lady friend. What’s funny is that there were apparently a number of others with the same idea to escape CT. The 84-Mass Pike change area was backed up for miles with people looking to fill up with gasoline. It was very end-of-the-world like. But anyway, here in Boston things are nice!! We’ve got power, heat, and places to eat that are actually open. To celebrate having the ability to eat somewhere, I went to a place in Southie that features Mexican and Chinese food so I got a burrito and a spring roll. It was glorious. As of 9:30am, CL&P was reporting that 100% of Windsor is dark. Yeah, I’ll pass on that. Hopefully power returns by Tuesday…

Gay Guru – York, Maine – 10/31/2011, 10:48 a.m.: In just a few minutes darling, I’m begining my journey to CT via a pit-stop in Portsmouth, NH with a laundry list of food to pick up for my family…. wish me luck darlings!

Gay Guru – Sturbridge, MA – 10/31/2011, 2:01 p.m.: Nearing the CT border. Have received no less than three phone calls detailing what a war zone Connecticut is right now. I wonder if my outfit is dramatic enough for this…

