Adventures in Dog-Ownership: Puppy Paralysis

I have a serious problem with indecisiveness. I really wish a dog would just wander up onto my front steps and refuse to leave. It would also help if it would make friends with my cats.

I blame Petfinder.com for this. There are so many homeless dogs, and many of them are down South but masquerading as local pooches in need. It’s all very confusing.

By allert, Flickr Creative Commons.

Every time I see a sweet, well-trained dog that would be a pleasure to share my home with, I think, “Well shouldn’t I adopt some troubled beast that desperately needs my help?” Then I start thinking, “But I’ve got to worry about the cats, too.” I lean toward pitbulls because I know there are many good ones in need, but I’m partial to German shepherds. (And who could blame me?) Turns out my homeowner’s insurance doesn’t allow either — or a bunch of other breeds. Now, if that perfect dog wandered into my yard I’d be happy to switch carriers but it also seemed like a handy way  to 1) alleviate me of my guilt for not getting some poor, desperate pitbull 2) a way to narrow down the list of available dogs.

To add to my complete lack of decision making skills, I got interested in the idea of adopting a dog from a program like DAWGS in Prison. There are basically two things I require from dogs: that they’re smart/easily trained, and that they’re loyal. Getting one of these pre-trained prison dogs seems like the perfect way to be sure I get a smart dog…and hopefully a loyal one.  I wasn’t thrilled with the idea of adopting a dog I’d never met, but then the Asian Persuasion told me her old boss adopted a dog from one of these programs that was in Virginia. That seems to be the closest program that trains dogs for general adoption and not for service work. The AP then volunteered to head out on a roadtrip with me, because she liked the dog I was interested in.

So as I write this I’m preparing to finally take the next step and send an adoption application to adopt a good dog with a terrible name.

