#Snowpocalypse 2013 — The Live Blog

You’ve probably realized by now that our live blogs of storms are incredibly boring. They mostly consist of us just sitting around in our homes, telling you what we’re eating, drinking, and shoveling. And that’s probably what you’ll get this time around too… But we’re usually at least mildly amusing. So enjoy.

7:41 a.m. – Asian Persuasion – Manchester: Well, I’m just going to head into work now. I’ve checked three websites, including Hartford Parking Authority and there doesn’t seem to be a parking ban. I can save myself the 10-15 minute walk in and park on the street. Sweet.

8:15 a.m. – Asian Persuasion – Hartford: Well, even Starbucks is closing early. I think this means it’s for serious. First one in the office and mentally taking bets as to how many people are idiots like me. No sign of snow yet.

9:22 a.m. – Asian Persuasion – Hartford: We’ve got about a third of the staff in. It’s quiet which in theory means, I’ll be more productive.

10:15 a.m. – Asian Persuasion – Hartford: WTF?! I got a parking ticket. Apparently there WAS a parking ban, despite the lack of signage, or postings on any websites. I am thinking of a whole pile of insults here. I’ve never contested a parking ticket before, but I’ll be starting now! DAMN YOU HARTFORD–THIS IS WHY PEOPLE INSULT YOU ALL THE TIME!

Going to start listening to the Hartford Symphony’s Nemo playlist to calm myself.

11:21 a.m. – Anti-Couric – East Hartford – I woke up this morning and realized that despite my trip to the grocery store last night (spurred mostly by my need for guacamole to go on my burritos and not by a pre-storm panic) I had forgotten to get agave nectar somewhere between parking at another store just to be able to get to the grocery store, and wanting to murder the people buying cases of water. Agave nectar probably isn’t a staple in your house, but it’s what I put in my tea… and without tea, life just isn’t worth living. So I brushed my teeth, put on the clothes I wore yesterday, and headed out to Ocean State job Lot (where the Asian Persuasion won’t shop but things like agave nectar and digestive biscuits are uber-cheap). While I was at Ocean State, I figured it was as good a time as any to finally go next door to Pep Boys and buy the windshield wiper I’d been needing. I scoffed at the poor girl ahead of me who needed some stranger to install her windshield wiper, and then I headed back to the car (where the dog was patiently waiting). Then I realized I kind of needed gas, even though I probably won’t be going anywhere. So I went to a gas station where some genius was camped out near the entrance, blocking the way and (I assume) waiting to see which of the 15 bays opened up first. I found this very annoying, because that’s just not proper gas station etiquette. Everyone knows you pull in behind a car, and wait for them to leave. If you pick a loser, too bad. (This was especially stupid today because though every bay was full, no car had a line waiting behind it so it’s not like the place was packed.) So, rather than wait for another car to pull in behind me and cause a line to back up out into traffic, I went around the dumb hoe who was blocking the entrance… and she beeped at me. She’s lucky I’m in a good mood today, because I kind of felt like lecturing her on how to properly use a gas station (which does not include letting your idiot kids run around buying candy, though she apparently didn’t know that either). Anyway, I finally got home, changed my wiper, made a tea and some breakfast tacos… and now I’m writing this and staring out my office window watching the snow…

11:43 a.m. – Asian Persuasion – Hartford: Okay, apparently roads are going to be closed, etc. Soon. I suppose I should pack my ass up and head home and kick my team out.

11:52 a.m. – Tech_Envy – Glastonbury: Live from a snowy Glastonbury center, I just kicked my two teams out of the office to close out their day from home. Roads will indeed be closing at noon, so I am getting ready to make the trek as well! I’ll post an update on those roads when I reach Bolton! Stay safe out there everyone!

12:17 p.m. – Asian Persuasion – Manchester: Wow, people are idiots. Roads were wet and just just just starting to get slick. For some reason, this either means a) go 20 mph or b) go 95 mph and impatiently weave in and out of everyone. Morons.

12:21 p.m. – Anti-Couric – East Hartford: CL&P just called to tell me there is a storm coming. Whoa! Good thing someone told me. Also, at what point do we start holding TV reporters responsible for their completely irresponsible behavior while covering storms.

1:05 p.m. – Anti-Couric – East Hartford: Shovel early and often, that’s what I always say. So my first snow-removal of the day is done. Had the dog outside with me for all of 10 minutes before she started limping thanks to a clump of icy snow stuck between her paw pads. We’re back inside now… so sick of the news coverage of the storm that I’m resorting to watching The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills.

1:15 p.m. – Tech_Envy – Bolton: The roads are getting a little slick, but nothing we New England folk can’t handle! Actually, I am astonished at the amount of tards on the road right now, Hebron Ave in Glastonbury at one point, up by Highland Park Market, looked like people were fleeing the zombie apocalypse. It was pretty amusing. Also, watching people rage because the gas stations are all out of gas was comical. This storm may have been brought about by HAARP (http://www.haarpconspiracy.com/) to stop people from bitching about $4 gasoline. Seriously… I haven’t heard someone complain since the news coverage started, have you???

1:37 p.m. – Asian Persuasion – Manchester: Lunch complete, and a nice Syrah in my Nemo cup…a little Beethoven and my data analysis isn’t nearly as bad as it would have been in the office:

2:10 p.m. – Tech_Envy – Bolton: Package store across the street from us is buzzing like the day before a holiday when the “blue laws” were in effect. Lots of people with the same idea as us I suppose!

2:10 p.m. – Tech_Envy – Bolton: My wife just brought me a nice hot bowl of Annie’s shells and cheese. I thought it was worth sharing (the news, not the food)! Thanks Hunny Bunny!

2:48 p.m. – Anti-Couric – East Hartford: Forgive me if this post is nonsensical. I am stupider for having watched two episodes of RHBH. A friend posted a picture of her storm provisions on Facebook, and it included cookie dough. Now I’m thinking about going out to get cookie dough to gnaw on… but then I’d have to clean off the car. I don’t really feel like doing that… Woe is me.

3:00 p.m. – Asian Persuasion – Manchester: I just threw up a little bit in my mouth reading Tech_Envy’s words of “Hunny Bunny.” Seriously, dude. In other news, I decided to take the recycling out and it’s starting to get windy out there. Like close-your-eyes-cause-snow-is-pelting-you-in-the-irises-windy. I was shaking my head at the idiots still out on the road, until I realized that I forgot to get flour to make cookies. Then I debated going to the store, until I realized that would make me just as much of an idiot. Damn. Seriously people, let’s listen to good ol’ Dannel and get the hell off the roads. Then there’s these a-holes on the Weather Channel patting themselves on the back for predicting the storm. “We’ve done a really good job tracking this storm.” Wait a second, isn’t that your JOB?!

3:24 p.m. – Anti-Couric – East Hartford: I’ve found a new way to entertain myself. I sent a picture of my dog playing in the snow to NBC. Then I decided to encourage all my friends to take pictures and send those to NBC. I’m hoping that within an hour or so, I will have been able to mount a coup and completely take over the broadcast with pictures of my friends and their pets in the snow. It’s way more interesting than watching some dude stand next to a road in the snow just to show us all what we can see outside our window.

4:50 p.m. – Tech_Envy – Bolton: I apologize for clearly upsetting the Asian Persuasion with my term of endearment… I’ll try and come up with something more original, but I doubt if I could beat hers (if you’re wondering I heard it’s “my little fortune cookie”). Anywho, weather wise it’s cold, damn cold out there. I had to tighten the cover on my grill out on the deck and we’re starting to see some serious accumulation! I’m praying we don’t lose power tonight, but with Bolton’s track record it is a very distinct possibility. Cross those fingers for me though. I have a whole lot of WoW to play the next couple days!

5:00 p.m. – Anti-Couric – East Hartford: This…
httpv://youtu.be/i6zaVYWLTkU

7:40 p.m. – Anti-Couric – East Hartford: Just finished shoveling for the third time, and I moved more snow on this round than I did in the previous two put together. It’s really coming down now, and the wind was making it hard to see. The dog loved it though… for a while… I stopped to talk to a neighbor for a few minutes and the dog was romping around, playing in the snow and getting lovin’ from the neighbor, but when I back to shoveling it was just too hard to watch the dog and move snow so I put her in the backyard for a while. I didn’t latch the gate because the snow was high enough to make it tough to move. I headed back out front and a few minutes later the dog came running out front to see me. I went to bring back to the yard and she stopped at the backdoor. She had a nice little layer of snow accumulating on her fur, and I think she was saying, “F–k this, lady, I’m done.”

8:01 p.m. – Asian Persuasion – Manchester: Well, it’s gotten about as exciting as watching paint dry. I mean, I’m perfectly content with how I’ve spent my time, but you all may find it mind numbingly boring. Tough shit.  Did some pilates, made a kickass lasagna and opening a bottle of wine that might be a little too easy to drink. Watched some idiot in a 2-door civic with snow all over his back windshield crawl down the street and argued with The Pilot about what I should offer to the snow guys plowing our lot. I want to toss the dog out in the snow, but The Pilot says that we have to wait until it’s deeper. Party pooper. Hey, Tech_Envy…fortune cookies are an American creation…by a white person, I think.

10:24 p.m. – Asian Persuasion – Manchester: We finally made it outside to let the dog run around. It’s cold and windy as all get out, if you couldn’t guess. There are still colossal idiots out there trying to drive in this whiteout. Tulla raced like a horse, leaping onto the condo’s picnic table, up the snow mountains created by the plows and right up into our arms. She makes a good snow dog:

