Fancy Food and the Symphony

Thanks to the Asian Persuasion, the Prissy Bitch and I headed to the Hartford Symphony Orchestra’s “Life: A Journey Through Time” performance. It couples the music of Philip Glass (who, I bet you didn’t know, is a relative of This American Life’s Ira Glass) with the photography of Frans Lanting.

I have pretty much no musical talent…or really even a basic knowledge of musical concepts. Basically, I’m the worst. But I liked my night out at the symphony, in part because I like nature photography — and even recognized some of the Lanting images (like this one). Also, it could have been me, but the show seemed mercifully short. I’m at an age where all concerts are starting to seem a little too long (especially ones where I have to sit on a lawn or stand a lot) and the Life show seemed to fly by.

But then I got to head out for an after-hours party at Salute. It was my first time at the restaurant, despite the Asian Persuasion’s constant gushing about it. I ordered the sweet potato ravioli and as I bit into it I literally said, “Oh my God…this is freaking great!” You know, ‘ cause it was. (That reminds me, we hit the Pond House in Glastonbury before the show where when you order one happy hour appetizer, you get a second for a penny.)

So the next time you’re complaining about not having anything to do in Connecticut, take your arse down to the Bushnell as check out the symphony. You’ll be better for it.

