Connecticut Got Real Weird Yesterday: Disembodied Legs and Bear Burial Grounds

Yesterday morning I got up at 5:45 a.m. so I could catch a 7:28 a.m. train to NYC in New Haven. Normally this is not news worthy, except that New Haven police found a pair of disembodied legs near the train station yesterday. Somehow, I managed to get to and from the station without seeing any leg-related activities, or experiencing train delays (which is a miracle on a day when no body parts have been found). It wasn’t until I got home and checked Facebook that I learned of the disembodied legs that I’d been so close to.

(On a side note, I’d like to add that any time you find unexplained body parts, I think you have to ask, “Is Bob Durst involved?” Durst, however, is in prison so finding a way to link him to these particular legs will be difficult.)

Finding a pair of legs near a major commuter train station would be weird enough, but a woman also found a bear body dumping grounds hidden in the woods of Burlington. Apparently, the state composts bears that it has to euthanize and some poor woman/trespasser found the pile of bear carcasses yesterday.

Gross, right? Well, if you think there isn’t a dumping ground for carcasses in your town, you’re mistaken. I used to walk shelter dogs in Newtown, and at the time the pound was located next to the town dump. So I walked the dogs around the landfill, which was actually quite pretty. There were lots of tall grasses, wildflowers, and birds. There was also something I like to call a “carcass hole.” It was a giant pit where roadkill goes to decompose. I avoided it in the summer, because of the smell, but in the winter I’d often pass by. As long as the frozen animals were in the hole, it wasn’t so bad, but still living wildlife would often pull the bodies back out. (Legend has it that a Mountain Lion was once spotted sitting near the carcass hole, and walking along the nearby train tracks.)

If you visit the bulky waste site in Glastonbury–or just about any town–you’ll find similar carcass holes, composting piles, and other versions of places where animals go to return to the earth.

None the less, I think we can all agree that yesterday was a weird day in the Nutmeg State.

